The Usher Cup Team Handicap 2011-12

Team photo – players from left to right. Dave Leeworthy, John Oldfield, Stan Pitts, Geoff Knapp and Norman Bradfield



Sarisbury Social has won the Southampton Billiard Leagues prestigious Usher Team Handicap Billiards Cup, after a nail biting final against Chandlers Ford Central at Churchill’s Eastleigh!

The match is played with five-players per team who all have individual handicaps trying to reach the 200 point mark. The winners are decided by the total team aggregate points total. The average age of the Sarisbury maestros is 74, so a wonderful achievement against the relative ‘youngsters’ of Chandlers Ford.

Sarisbury started well with Norman Bradfield (rec +30) leading Daniel Zagaroli (rec -145), but Zagaroli made breaks of 59, 42 and 37 to win by 200-161. Sarisbury hit back with Stan Pitts (rec +20) making a 38 and a 30 in beating Mark Shirley (rec +45), who made a 27 break, by 200-158

Chandlers’ Wayne Muddiman (rec +45) led Dave Leeworthy (rec +30) by over 100 points but as the game neared its conclusion, Leeworthy mad a 36 to pip his opponent by 200-195. The game between Chandlers’ captain Terry Azor (rec -75) and Geoff Knapp (rec +35) ebbed and flowed, but Azor’s consistency – making six breaks over 20 and a 32, helped him to a 200-184 win

The last game had Chandlers leading the aggregate points total by 753-745 and Sarisbury’s captain John Oldfield (rec +15) facing Tony Hannam (rec +90). The ‘baby of the bunch’ at 69 was not to be denied as he won by 200-171 to help his team to a memorable 945-924 points victory


Chandlers Ford Central’s Daniel Zagaroli made a wonderful break of 120 to go with a 51, as his team beat visitor’s Totton Rec in the first round of the Southampton Billiard League’s prestigious Usher team handicap cup

He overcame Tony Aldridge 200-117 and John Mullane made an 85 in beating Mike Kunzi 200-123. Steve Allen pulled one back for Totton, as he beat Terry Azor 200-146, but Wayne Muddiman overcame Steve Laird 200-161. Totton’s Brian Cannons beat Tony Hannam 200-192, which left Chandlers winning the team aggregate 938-801

Netley Central beat Woolston Cons 955-890, with Netley’s Chris Christodoulou making a 46 break in beating Sid Hunt 200-161. Mark Stansmore beat Ian Hine 200-195, Paul Tavender overcame Keith Castles 200-181 and Paul Lawrence beat Malcolm Willis 200-153. Woolston’s Mike Thatcher beat Steve Boterhoek 200-155

Curdridge BL overcame visitor’s Hamble Social 971-883 with Brian Bull beating Paul Williams 200-182, Clive Gamblin (37 break) overcoming Will Mildenhall 200-115 and Derek Fry beating Rob Shattock 200-186. Hamble’s Paul Knights (32 break) beat Gwen Gamblin 200-184 and Tony Spridgeon overcame Stuart Hamper 200-187

Sarisbury Social beat visitor’s Hythe Social 937-898. John Oldfield beat Mike Rose 200-199, Norman Bradfield overcame Tony Scarborough 200-159 and Geoff Knapp beat Wayne Chiverton 200-140. Hythe’s winners were Rob Tennant who beat Stan Pitts 200-142 and Brain Price who overcame Dave Leeworthy 200-195