The Stuart Hamper Memorial Handicap Billiards Championship 2017-18

Andy Carter, Mick Kunzi, Derek King and winner Korbin Lowe

Semi-Final & Final

Chandlers Ford Central's Lowe ends the night on a first-time high!

Stuart Hamper Memorial Individual Billiards Handicap Challenge
Semi-Finals and Final – Churchills Eastleigh, Wednesday 18 April 2018

Chandlers Ford Central’s Korbin Lowe has won the Stuart Hamper Memorial Individual Handicap Billiards Challenge Championship for the first time, after a fine display of all-round billiards in the semi-final and final played at Churchills Eastleigh.

In the first semi-final St Denys Cons’ Derek King (receive +90) faced-off against teammate Andy Carter (receive +30). There was drama almost immediately, as King’s cue tip came off mid break, and he had to have it glued back on to continue! King led for most of the first to 200 points game, playing some fine pots and cannons. But Carter clawed his way back into contention with some excellent in-offs and cannons himself, eventually triumphing by 200-173.

In the other semi-final, Chandler’s Lowe (receive +5) was drawn against Totton Rec’s Mick Kunzi (receive -25). Lowe played superbly to make breaks of 22, 37, 38 and a 29 unfinished, and leave Kunzi, who made a consolation 31 break, dreaming of what might have been, winning by a margin of 200-32.

The final was an evenly poised affair between two of the fairly new entrants to the prestigious Southampton Billiards League. Carter led by 40 points for some time, with Lowe trying to find his semi final form. Both players showed their improving billiards knowledge, but the tension of their first final appearance was getting to them! Lowe made two telling breaks of 29 and 25 which helped him towards the winning line. Carter gave all he could to draw level, but Lowe was not to be denied as he ran out a 200-153 champion. Well done to all the semi-finalists and well done Korbin!

Quarter Finals

Quarter-finals results

Andy Carter 200 V Rob Shattock 175

Derek King (30) 200 V Lee Fitzpatrick 124

Korbin Lowe (34) 200 V Chris Christodoulou 193

Mike Henstridge 178 V Mick Kunzi (48) 200 


Last 16

Lee Fitzpatrick 200 V Rob Smith 196

Mick Kunzi  (39, 41) 200 V Daniel Zagaroli (49, 45, 50, 34, 34) 129 

Terry Azor  (66, 38, 35) 87 V Andy Carter (32) 200

Rob Shattock 200 V Paul Lawrence 121

Korbin Lowe 200 V Ray Smith 183

Mike Henstridge 200 V Ian Finch 170

Chris Pullen 184 V Chris Christodoulou 200

Chris Bishop 130 V Derek King 200

First Round

Ian Finch BYE

Paul Knights V Chris Pullen 200

Ray Smith 200 V Nick Wood

Mike Henstredge W/O V Mark Stansmore

Brian Cannons 173 V Derek King 200

Tony Aldridge 128 V Terry Azor 200 (114, 38, 45)

Clive Gamblin 122 V Chris Bishop 200 (39)

Andy Carter 200 V Mike Thatcher 155

Lee Fitzpatrick 200 V Derek Fry 190

Dave White V Rob Smith 200

Malcolm Willis 162 V Daniel Zagaroli 200 (62, 40, 41, 42, 38, 47)

Will Mildenhall 187 V Chris Christodoulou 200

Paul Lawrence 200 (43) V Graham Hollick 183

Rob Shattock 200 V Brian Bull 113

Mick Kunzi 200 V Paul Tavender 169

Korbin Lowe 200 (45) V Trevor Thorn